Pete Wilson Scholarship


The 2014 application period is now open. CLICK HERE TO REGISTER AND APPLY  Deadline to apply is May 2, 2014.

Scholarship Management System provided by WizeHive

The Pete Wilson Journalism Scholarship was established in 2007 by Wilson's friends and colleagues. The scholarship is granted to an undergraduate or graduate journalism student enrolled in a Bay area school who shares Wilson's commitment to ethical, responsible journalism.  The 2014 Pete Wilson Scholarship is open to graduate students and alternates each year between undergraduates and graduate applicants. The recipient of the Pete Wilson Journalism Scholarship will receive $2,000 and an invitation to the Excellence in Journalism conference.




  • Must be officially enrolled in college and have at least one full academic year remaining.
  • Must be a fully enrolled college sophomore or higher to receive scholarship.
  • Must apply for only one scholarship.
  • May be enrolled in any major so long as your intent is a career in electronic journalism.


1. A completed application form submitted online only.

2. A cover letter, submitted with the online application including these topics:


  • Discuss your current and past journalism experience.
  • Describe how you would use the funds if you were to receive the scholarship.
  • Discuss your choice to pursue a career in electronic journalism.
  • Include in your cover letter 3-5 links to your best and most relevant work samples to the scholarship for which you are applying.  Work samples should be broadcast (television/radio) or online news pieces.  Entrants are encouraged to upload their work samples to sites like YouTube, Vimeo, Sound Cloud and other platforms, then inlude links to these samples in the cover letter.  Entrants are also encouraged to provide a link to their personal website, if this is available, or social media platforms if they are used professionally.  Please discuss your role in each of the pieces (producer, editor, reporter, etc).


3. A letter of recommendation from your dean, faculty advisor or intership advisor, submitted with online application.


Pete Wilson Scholarship Winners
2013 Talia Samelian, San Francisco State University   Website | Twitter
2012 Casey Capachi, University of California Berkley 
Click here to view Casey's work
2012 Summer Dashe, Southern Methodist University  Click here to view Summer's work
2011 Jessica Savage, San Jose State University
2011 Roberto Daza, University of California Berkley

2010 Alyssa Fetini
2009 Mandana Mofidi
2008 Molly Snyder Fink

If you have questions, please contact Karen Hansen at