German American Awards


In addition to the bi-national exchange program between the United States and Germany, the RIAS Berlin Commission confers annual awards for radio, television, and online reporting.

The Awards commission seeks stories, pieces, reports, and newscasts that address an aspect of the relationship between our two nations. Reports can reference politics, economics, society, culture or current events.

The Awards ceremony is held each spring in Berlin. Award winners are notified in advance of their honor. Each award winner is invited to attend the award ceremony, and is provided flight and overnight accommodations in Berlin.


Entries may be single stories or multi-part series. There is no length requirement. Entries should be submitted electronically, with links to the work contained in the body of the email.

Application Process

Review the call for entries for specific rules and details.

A cover sheet with the following information (there is no application form) must accompany all entries:

  • Your name, title, station, address, phone, fax and e-mail address
  • Air date(s) of your story and its running length, or date(s) original material was generated/added to web site
  • Title and a brief description of your story, or web site URL(s) and general description and/or background on site
  • A brief description of your role in production of the story or submitted content


2014 Awards

Radio/TV entries for the 2014 awards must have aired and Internet entries must have been published between January 1 and December 31, 2013.
Entries must be received by the RTDNF no later than January 15, 2014.
The awards ceremony will be held in Berlin around Memorial Day, 2014.

For further information on any the RIAS Awards program, or any other aspect of our international fellowship program in Germany, please contact:

German/American Journalist Exchange Program
Jon Ebinger
International Programs Consultant
529 14th Street NW
Suite 1240
Washington, DC 20045