Gannett Foundation Award

The Radio Television Digital News Association is once again teaming with the Gannett Foundation to honor the very best in investigative reporting!

The 2014 entry period is not yet open. A link will be included here when entries are being accepted.

The winning entrant will be invited to join RTDNA and the 2014 National Edward R. Murrow Award winners at our gala annual awards dinner and show at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City in October to receive the Gannett Foundation prize.

The award recognizes groundbreaking work by a journalist or a staff that creatively used digital tools in the role of being a community's watchdog. Special consideration is given to journalism that helps a community understand and address important issues.

Previous Winners:

In 2012, the winners were Danny Gawlowski and the staff of The Seattle Times including Michael J. Berens, Ken Armstrong, Justin Mayo, James Neff, Katrina Barlow and Genevieve Alvarez for the piece,  “Methadone and the Politics of Pain."  Click here to view the winning entry

In 2011, the winner was Paula Lavigne for "ESPN Outside the Lines: What’s Lurking in Your Stadium Food?"  Click here to view the winning entry

Entry Requirements:

1. Each entry must have appeared between January 1, 2013 and December 31, 2013.

2. Entry cannot exceed 15 minutes in length.

3. Media must be submitted on the entry application in the form of a URL. Entrants are encouraged to upload their media via YouTube, Vimeo or to their station's website and provide the necessary link on the online application form.

4. Submit a completed online application form. Applications will be accepted beginning in June. Applications received after the deadline date will not be accepted.

Criteria for evaluating innovation include interactivity, creation of new tools, innovative adaptation of existing tools, and creative use of any digital medium. An entry will consist of a single story, series or package on a single subject.


Winner will receive a $5,000 prize. Award will be presented to the individual entrant or news staff listed on the application.

Contest Duration:

Applications will be accepted beginning in June.
Registration is $25 for RTDNA members and $50 for non-members.

A link to enter will be posted here when entries are being accepted.

For any questions about the award, please email Katie Switchenko at