Fellowship Information


The 2014 application period is now open. CLICK HERE TO REGISTER AND APPLY  Deadline to apply is May 2, 2014.

Scholarship Management System provided by WizeHive

N.S. Bienstock Fellowship

An award established in 1999 by N.S. Bienstock, Inc. owners, Richard Leibner and Carole Cooper. N.S. Bienstock is a leading talent agency in news and reality-based programming for more than 35 years and is a long-time member of RTDNA. This award recognizes a promising minority journalist in radio or television news.
In addition to the $2,500 award, winners are invited to attend the Excellence in Journalism conference.

2013 Winner: Patricia Guerra
2012 Winner: Alexis Morgan

Michele Clark Fellowship

RTDNF's first fellowship is named for the CBS News correspondent who was killed in a plane crash while on assignment in 1972. Her family and colleagues at CBS sent money in lieu of flowers to create a fund in her name, endowing a permanent $1,000 award for young, promising minority professionals in television or radio news.

In addition to the $1,000 award, winners of the Michele Clark Fellowships are invided to attend the Excellence in Journalism conference.

2013 Winner:
Chanteé Lans
2012 Winner: Rosa Flores

Vada and Col. Barney Oldfield National Security Reporting Fellowship

A $1,000 award, created by the RTDNF Board of Trustees in honor of the names it bears. Barney and Vada served in WWII and both had illustrious military careers. Barney's long and impressive career included a stint as a Hollywood studio publicist, WWII Army and post-war Air Force public relations officer, author, lecturer, businessman and philanthropist who founded over 40 private foundations including RTDNF. This award is given annually to a reporter or producer in radio or television news to help them cover national defense and security issues.

In addition to the $1,000 award, winners are invited to attend the Excellence in Journalism conference.

Jacque I. Minnotte Health Reporting Fellowship
This award was created to honor former news director and Medstar executive Jacque Minnotte, who died in 1993. This fellowship recognizes excellence in health or medical television and radio reporting. RTNDF will award a $2,000 cash fellowship to a journalist in radio and television with fewer than 10 years of experience.

In addition to the $2,000 award, winners of the Jacque I. Minnotte Health Reporting Fellowship are invited to attend the Excellence in Journalism conference.

  • May only apply for one fellowship
  • Past fellowship winners may not apply for a second RTDNF fellowship
  • Must have fewer than 10 years as a professional journalist


1. A completed application form submitted online only.

2. A cover letter, submitted with the online application including these topics:

  • Discuss your current and past journalism experience.
  • Describe how you would use the funds if you were to receive the fellowship.
  • Discuss your choice to pursue a career in electronic journalism.
  • Include in your cover letter 3-5 links to your best and most relevant work samples to the scholarship for which you are applying.  Work samples should be broadcast (television/radio) or online news pieces.  Entrants are encouraged to upload their work samples to sites like YouTube, Vimeo, Sound Cloud and other platforms, then inlude links to these samples in the cover letter.  Entrants are also encouraged to provide a link to their personal website, if this is available, or social media platforms if they are used professionally.  Please discuss your role in each of the pieces (producer, editor, reporter, etc).

3. A letter of recommendation from your news manager, submitted with online application. If you are a news manager, include a letter from your general manager.

Please contact Karen Hansen at karenh@rtdna.org if you have any questions about RTDNF scholarships and fellowships.

Resources like this are made possible by donors like you to the Radio Television Digital News Foundation.
Click on the button below to make your donation today:

Federal Tax ID: 38-1860090